Crash Report Online Purchase System
You may obtain a copy of a Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report (CR-3) (regular or certified) by using our Crash Report Online Purchase System link below. Customers using the online system receive their report(s) immediately if the report is available for purchase. There is a minimal surcharge for using this system. See the sections below for more information on obtaining a crash report online, confidentiality, fees and ordering a crash report by mail.
If the system cannot identify your individual crash using the information provided, you will not be able to purchase a crash report through this automated facility.
This option is not currently available for purchasing Driver’s Crash Reports (CR-2) (Blue Report).
Due to their confidential nature, crash reports are not available for online viewing by the general public.
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) is the custodian of crash records for the State of Texas. Texas Transportation Code §550.062 requires any law enforcement officer who in the regular course of duty investigates a motor vehicle crash that results in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to the apparent extent of $1,000 or more, to submit a written report of that crash to TxDOT not later than the 10th day after the date of the crash.
TxDOT collects crash reports from every law enforcement agency in Texas and for crashes that occur on any public roadway in Texas, not just crashes occurring on the state highway system. The state retention schedule for crash reports and data are 10 years plus the current year. The current retention schedule effective in 2015 contains only five previous years plus the current year. Data for years beyond this period is not available. Each year TxDOT will continue to add one year to the retention schedule until the 10-year retention schedule is met.
Effective Sept. 1, 2017, per the 85th Texas Legislature Senate Bill 312, the Driver's Crash Reports (Form CR-2) are no longer retained by the Texas Department of Transportation. The drivers involved in a crash not investigated by a peace officer should retain this form for their records. The state retention schedule for Driver’s Crash Reports (CR-2) (Blue Form) is one year plus current year. Request for information outside this retention schedule is not available.
Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report (CR-3) (FOR PEACE OFFICERS ONLY)
This report is completed by a law enforcement officer investigating a traffic crash when apparent damage is $1,000 or more, or when the crash resulted in injury or death.
Effective Sept. 1, 2019, per the 85th Texas Legislature Senate Bill 312, all Peace Officer Crash Reports (CR‐3) are to be submitted electronically. TxDOT is currently reviewing technological ways to assist paper submitting agencies with this mandate and will be providing additional information as it becomes available. TxDOT offers two electronic approved formats for submitting crash data that validates the crash when submitted:
Driver's Crash Report (CR-2) (Blue Form)
This report is completed by a driver involved in a traffic crash when the crash is not investigated by a law enforcement officer, the apparent damage is not $1,000 or more or when the crash did not result in injury or death. Effective Sept. 1, 2017, per the 85th Texas Legislature Senate Bill 312, the Driver’s Crash Reports (Form CR-2) are no longer retained by the Texas Department of Transportation. The drivers involved in a crash not investigated by a police officer should retain this form for their records.
Please use Internet Explorer when downloading TxDOT forms.
During the 84th Legislative Session, Texas Transportation Code §550.065 now allows for the release of a crash report on written request and upon payment of the required fee to any person directly concerned in the accident or having proper interest therein, including:
(A) Any person involved in the accident
(B) The authorized representative of any person involved in the accident
(C) A driver involved in the accident
(D) An employer, parent or legal guardian of a driver involved in the accident
(E) The owner of a vehicle or property damaged in the accident
(F) A person who has established financial responsibility for a vehicle involved in the accident in a manner described in Texas Transportation Code 601.501, including a policyholder of a motor vehicle
(G) An insurance company that issued an insurance policy covering a vehicle involved in the accident
(H) An insurance company that issued a policy covering any person involved in the accident
(I) A person under contract to provide claims or underwriting to a person described in sections (F), (G) or (H)
(J) A radio or television station that holds a license issued by the Federal Communications Commission
(K) A newspaper that is a free newspaper of general circulation or qualified under Section 2051.044, Government Code, to publish legal notices; published at least once a week; and available and of interest to the general public in connection with the dissemination of news
(L) Any person who may sue because of death resulting from the accident.
(M) Any agency of the United States, this state (Texas), or a local government of this state (Texas)
If a person or entity does not meet any of these criteria, TxDOT does provide the option on the CR-91 form to provide a detailed explanation as to how they meet the criteria in a manner that is not listed in the above reasons (A) through (M). Persons or entities who do not meet the criteria will receive a redacted copy of the crash report.
Costs - Crash Reports
Costs - Subpoenas and Affidavits
Ordering a Crash Report by Mail
If you are unable to use the Crash Report Online Purchase System, you may purchase a copy of a Texas Peace Officer’s Crash Report (CR-3) by completing the appropriate request form and mailing it with the required payment to the address shown on the form.
Effective Sept. 1, 2017, the Driver’s Crash Report (CR‐2 Form) retention policy has changed as per Senate Bill 312, 85th Texas Legislature. For events that occurred on or after Sept. 1, 2017, drivers should fill out a CR‐2 form and keep the form for their records. For events that occurred prior to Sept. 1, 2017, reports filed with the department are retained in accordance with the retention policy in effect at that time, which is one year plus the current year. To purchase a copy of a Driver’s Crash Report that is on file with the department, please complete the CR‐91A form (link below), and mail it with the required payment to the address shown on the form.